Bilde av mønster

The Aspelin Ramm prize

Good urban development demands a high level of competence. Aspelin Ramm wishes to encourage further knowledge and understanding of the subject, and facilitate better and more future-oriented development projects. We’re inviting recent college graduates holding a masters’ degree in property development, architecture, landscape architecture and planning to participate in this contest. Only masters’ thesis graded A or B during 2016 or 2017 will be considered.

Emphasis will be placed on interdisciplinary understanding, and the paper’s theme must be relevant and applicable to the subject of urban Development.

The submission must include a summary of up to 200 words alongside the thesis itself and it’s given grade. Students whose assignments have not been censored before the application deadline must submit their grades by September 16th.

The application deadline is August 5th 2017. Sign up for the Aspelin Ramm prize here.

Selected participants will be invited to present their work before an audience at Folketeateret during Oslo Urban Arena in September, where a winner will be chosen. The winner must have made an important contribution towards future-oriented urban development in Norway, and will receive a prize sum of 25.000 kr as well as a diploma designed by Enzo Finger.

See the program for Oslo Urban Arena here.

The jury
The jury will be led by Marianne Skjulhaug, head of the Institute of Urbanism and Landscape, at the Oslo School of Architecture and Design (AHO). The other members are Per G. Røe, head of the Department of Sociology and Human Geography at UiO, Elin Børrud, Professor of Urban and Regional Planning at the Norwegian University of Life Sciences (NMBU) and Gunnar Bøyum, CEO of Aspelin Ramm.

Previous winners

  • 2016: Tin Phan for the thesis Coworking Spaces, Oslo School of Architecture and Design (AHO).
  • 2015: Even Bakken for his thesis Byrom for fysisk aktivitet – støttet av norske spillemidler, Norwegian University of Life Sciences (NMBU).



Photo credits: Oslo Urban Arena